BJCP Categories: Homebrew for the competition can be submitted in any of the Beer Judge Certification Program categories listed below.

The BJCP Categories
All 28 Beer Judge Certification Program (BJCP) categories are eligible for points in the Midwest Homebrewer of the Year competition. This includes Mead, Cider and Perry. The 28 categories are listed below. Please note that you can only earn a maximum of 8 points per category, not 8 points per style. A BJCP style would be, for example, "1D. Munich Helles". The "1D. Munich Helles" style is in the "1. Light Lager" category. So if you place first in MWHBOY competitions with both a 1D Munich Helles and a 1C Premimum American Lager, you only receive 8 raw points, not 16.

View the complete BJCP Style Guidelines here.

  1. Light Lager
  2. Pilsner
  3. European Amber Lager
  4. Dark Lager
  5. Bock
  6. Light Hybrid Beer
  7. Amber Hybrid Beer
  8. English Pale Ale
  9. Scottish and Irish Ale
  10. American Ale
  11. English Brown Ale
  12. Porter
  13. Stout
  14. India Pale Ale
  15. German Wheat and Rye Beer
  16. Belgian and French Ale
  17. Sour Ale
  18. Belgian Strong Ale
  19. Strong Ale
  20. Fruit Beer
  21. Spice/Herb/Vegetable Beer
  22. Smoke-Flavored/Wood-Aged Beer
  23. Specialty Beer
  24. Traditional Mead
  25. Melomel (Fruit Mead)
  26. Other Mead
  27. Standard Cider and Perry
  28. Specialty Cider and Perry
Farmhouse Brewing Supply
Contact Us