About the Competition: The Midwest Homebrewer of the year competition uses the results from several homebrew competitions throughout the midwest. The homebrewer with the most accumulated points from beer, mead, and cider BJCP category entries wins the Midwest Homebrewer of the Year award.

About the Competition
The Midwest Homebrewer of the Year competition selects the top homebrewer from the Midwest based upon points earned in participating competitions. The homebrewer with the highest Net Score at the end of year wins the title of "Midwest Homebrewer of the Year" and receives significant Prizes. Points are accumulated by winning 1st, 2nd or 3rd place in any of the homebrew competitions in the MWHBOY Circuit. A brewer's accumulated points are multipled by his winning percentage (his ratio of medals to entries) to calculate his Net score, upon which the competition's rankings are based. For a detailed description of the competition rules and the formula used to calculate a brewer's Net Score, please visit the Rules page.
The Indiana State Fair Brewers' Cup has joined MWHBOY!
The Brewers' Cup is one of the top competitions in the country, an MCAB qualifying event, and now also a participant in the Midwest Homebrewer of the Year circuit. Due to the huge amount of interest that this competition generates, an entry cap has been in place for the last two years. This year the entry cap has been reduced to 800 entries. So you will want to register as early as possible. It is likely to be highly competitive. We are glad to finally have an Indiana competition represented in MWHBOY, as this is one of the larger midwestern states that has been missing from the circuit.
Dan Lechner
2013 Midwest Homebrewer of the Year
Sign up for email updates in order to be notified as soon as new standings are posted!
Contact Us

Dan Lechner of Lawton, Michigan is the 2013 Midwest Homebrewer of the Year! View all previous winners here.
The Indiana State Fair Brewers' Cup has joined the circuit! Registration opens June 13th and ends June 26th. Entries are accepted through June 28th.
Northern Brewer has discontinued their support for the Midwest Homebrewer of the Year competition, so we are currently looking for additional sponsors. The proceeds from sponsorship go entirely to the winner of MWHBOY. We will prominently feature your link and logo on the website, which receives over a thousand distinct visits per month.
With the results from the BOSS Challenge now in, the first half of the season is complete. Scot Schaar remains solidly in first place, Tim Thomssen is in 2nd, and Michael Wilcox is in 3rd. The next competition will be the German Fest Stein Challenge in July.
The standings have been updated with the results from the both the Drunk Monk Challenge and the Wizard of Saaz! Scot Schaar remains in 1st place with 19.91 points.